Shop for Denver Broncos gear at

Former Broncos Safety Brian Dawkins Elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Former Denver Broncos safety Brian Dawkins was given football’s highest honor on Saturday, as he was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame as part of a star-studded class.

Joining Dawkins in the class of 2018 are Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, Brian Urlacher and Ray Lewis, plus senior selections Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer, and contributor Bobby Beathard.

Another former Bronco, safety John Lynch, missed out on getting into the Hall.

“We’re very happy for Brian Dawkins on his well-deserved election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame,” Broncos president/CEO Joe Ellis said in a statement from the team. “Brian established himself as one of the NFL’s most respected and beloved players over many years in Philadelphia before joining the Broncos for the final three seasons of his incredible career. Here in Denver, Brian made multiple Pro Bowls as an inspirational leader for our team and a standout in the community. All of us at the Broncos congratulate Brian on being voted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.”

Dawkins earned nine Pro Bowl selections in his career (second-most all time by a safety) and logged 1,146 total tackles, 37 interceptions, 179 pass-breakups, 36 forced fumbles, 19 fumble recoveries and 26 sacks.

The Hall of Fame class will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio, on Saturday, August 4th.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Broncos Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply

Write For Us